ISIH President wins 2022 Elisabeth of Bohemia Prize

The Elisabeth of Bohemia Prize was created in honor of the 400th birthday of Elisabeth of Bohemia (1618-1680). The Prize is intended to acknowledge an internationally known scholar whose work best preserves the memory of women in philosophy. 

The prize is awarded by the Center for the History of Women Philosophers and by its director, Prof. Ruth Hagengruber, at Paderborn University. The award is donated by Prof. Ulrike Detmers, spokeswoman of the Mestemacher Group and professor at Bielefeld University of Applied Sciences.

This year the prize went to ISIH President, Professor Sarah Hutton, from the University of York.

Sarah’s research focuses on Renaissance and Seventeenth-century literature and intellectual history, including the history of science and history of philosophy. She is also a specialist in the History of Women Philosophers and one of the leading international experts on early modern women’s writing. She has published, among other book, a monograph on Anne Conway: Anne Conway. A Woman Philosopher, Cambridge University Press, 2004; and a revised edition of The Conway Letters, originally edited by Marjorie Nicolson. She also published many articles on Anne Conway, Margaret Cavendish, Mary Astell and Émilie du Châtelet.

Congratulations, Sarah!