Constance Blackwell Prize 2024

The ISIH is now accepting submissions to the Constance Blackwell Prize, one of our prizes for early career intellectual historians. This prize is awarded biennially to the best first monograph in intellectual history (broadly construed) published in the previous two years. The prize was established in memory of the Society’s founder, Constance Blackwell (1934-2018).

The value of the prize is £500. The prize may, exceptionally, be divided between two recipients. There will also be an announcement about the book which is proxime accessit to the prize.

The criteria for submission:

· the book must be the author’s first monograph

· the book must have been published in the previous two years (2022 or 2023 according to the book’s copyright page, for the 2024 prize)

· a brief supporting statement of a few sentences, with a copy of the book, sent to the Chair of the Prize Committee (Dr Richard Oosterhoff,

· self-nomination is permitted

The deadline for submissions is 31 May 2024.

The shortlist will be announced by September of the year in which the prize is awarded. The award of the prize itself will be publicised by the ISIH by the end of December that year. In 2022, the winner of the inaugural Constance Blackwell Prize was Jessica Patterson, for her book Religion, Enlightenment and Empire: British Interpretations of Hinduism in the Eighteenth Century (Cambridge University Press, 2021).